Backflow Base / Tester certification / Texas
Backflow tester certification in Texas.
TCEQ issues the Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester (BPAT) license. Many cities then require their own tester registration, gauge records and portal enrollment.
Last updated .
Who certifies
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), Occupational Licensing
licenses@tceq.texas.gov
The state sets a minimum; a water system may ask for more.
What it takes
- Credential
- TCEQ Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester (BPAT) license
- Before you start
- High school diploma or GED plus two years of work in an approved area (for example operating a public water system, installing or repairing irrigation systems, or holding a master or journeyman plumbing license). Up to one year can be replaced by 32 college semester hours or 20 hours of approved training.
- Training
- 40-hour TCEQ-approved BPAT course (course code 1200) with a practical skills exam, from a TCEQ-approved provider.
- Exam
- Written exam at a TCEQ regional office or TCEQ-approved computer-based testing site. The practical skills exam is given by the training provider.
- Renewal
- License is valid three years. Renewal needs 24 hours of continuing education, 8 of them hands-on practical skills, done before expiry, plus the renewal application and a criminal history attestation.
- Test kit
- TCEQ license page does not state a gauge rule. Houston's application, citing 30 TAC 290.44, says test gauges must be checked for accuracy annually and the calibration report submitted to the city.
- Fees
- Initial application fee $111 (TCEQ). Renewal fee not stated on the page.
Certificates from elsewhere
No other state's certificate is named as valid here. Ask the program before you rely on one.
Where to get certified
- TEEX (Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service)Bryan and Missouri City, TX · course · in person. 40-hour BPAT course WWW500, TCEQ-approved, $895. Classes listed Nov 2026 (Bryan) and Jan 2027 (Missouri City).
- Winn's CE (International Code Council)Various Texas cities · course · in person. 40-hour BPAT course with practical skills exam, $750 listed, plus renewal refresher courses.
- TCEQ approved training databaseAustin, TX · course. Searchable list of every approved BPAT provider; filter by BPAT.
Listed for convenience, not endorsed. Check that a course is on the state's approved list before you pay.
Free exam prep → Study questions, practice exams, device tests.
Test procedures for every assembly → The steps we recommend for the field exam.
Filing test reports
Each city sets its own method. Austin uses an online database, Dallas and San Antonio use SwiftComply and BSI Online portals, Fort Worth uses Envirotrax through Vepo. Houston requires a TCEQ-licensed tester on its approved company list and the report goes to its Cross Connection Control Program.
Portals in use: SwiftComply, BSI Online, VEPO / Envirotrax, Klir
Largest water systems
City of Houston (Houston Public Works)
- Contact
- 832-395-3800 · hpwcrosscon@houstontx.gov
- Reports
- Reports go to the Houston Public Works Cross Connection Control Program. The pages read did not name an online portal.
- Testers
- Tester must be TCEQ-licensed and on Houston's Backflow Testing Company List. Company applies by emailing one PDF with driver licenses, TCEQ licenses, gauge calibration reports, gauge serial photos and liability insurance naming the City.
San Antonio Water System (SAWS)
- Contact
- 210-233-2910
- Reports
- Submit tests at bsionline.com (Backflow Solutions Inc, BSI Online). Tester support 800-414-4990.
- Testers
- SAWS contracts BSI to manage its program; only registered testers can submit. Registration details are on the SAWS and BSI pages.
Dallas Water Utilities
- Contact
- 214-670-0910 · DWUBackflowInspections@dallas.gov
- Reports
- Submit through the SwiftComply portal; $15 fee for passed tests, failed tests exempt. From Sept 25, 2026 tests tied to permits are reviewed in SwiftComply, not sent to the plumbing inspector.
- Testers
- Testers must be registered with the City of Dallas Building Inspection office and enrolled in SwiftComply with test kit information.
Austin Water
- Contact
- 512-972-1060 option 5 · awcrossconnection@austintexas.gov
- Reports
- Test and Maintenance Reports online within 5 calendar days; paper not accepted. Page says the WEIRS database is replaced by a new application called Klir on Oct 26.
- Testers
- TCEQ license, then register with Austin Water by mail or email: Water Protection Technician Registration form plus Backflow Gauge Registration form. Renewal proof emailed after TCEQ CE.
City of Fort Worth Water Department
- Contact
- 817-392-8007 · wtrbackflowenforcement@FortWorthTexas.gov
- Reports
- Online through Envirotrax, provided by Vepo, LLC. Incomplete reports fail inspection.
- Testers
- Register with Vepo: form, TCEQ license, confined space certificate, driver license, gauge calibration certificate and $500,000 liability insurance naming the City. No registration fee per the page.
Sources
- TCEQ BPAT license page
- TCEQ training courses for occupational licensing
- TEEX WWW500 Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester
- Winn's CE TX BPAT
- Houston Cross Connection Control Program
- Houston 2026 Backflow Testing Company Application
- SAWS Cross-Connection Control program
- Dallas Water Utilities Backflow Test Reports
- Austin Water BPAT information
- Fort Worth backflow program
Checked 2026-10-19 against each state's own program pages and rules. Rules change; confirm with the program before you book an exam or a test. Spot something out of date? hello@backflowbase.com.
The software
- Bookings from a booking page, your own website, and an AI receptionist on your phone.
- Schedule board and route for each tester.
- Field app that scores every test, even with no signal.
- Test reports sent to the water system that serves each address.
- Card payments to your own Stripe account, and yearly renewals that charge after the test.
- Client portal for HOAs, property managers and contractors.
- $50/month flat: no per-test fee, no cut of payments.
- Every feature →What the app does, part by part.
- Compare →Next to other backflow and field-service software.
- Start free →No card. $50/month or $500/year once you go live, 45 days free.
- Free exam prep →Study questions, practice exams, device tests, a VR wet lab.